Good win for U-15s in Millbrook

Oldcastle 2-20 Blackhall Gaels 3-04
The U-15s put on an impressive display in Millbrook this morning, to take the points in this Autumn League encounter with Blackhall Gaels. A blistering run upfield by Eoin Smith was finished with a lovely pass to Rian Mulvanny for the first score. Eoin took the next one himself, Rian adding another, before Blackhall Gaels blasted in a goal to level it up. J.P. Purcell took the next point, and a foul on him resulted in the one to follow: Ryan Kevin converting. Blackhall Gaels added one more point to their tally for the half, but Oldcastle were cruising: Fionn McCabe, James Gibney and Lloyd Colleran were closing down all options for the Blackhall Gaels forwards, and getting plenty of balls upfield, with Tom Lynch and Ciaran Connell impressing.

More points from Paul Hennessy and Ryan Kevin saw Oldcastle forge ahead. Lloyd Colleran brought down a high ball which he passed to Cormac O’Connell, back to Lloyd again, to Brian Hetherton, back to Lloyd again who was making a great run the length of the pitch, and on to Rory Crawley who found Rian Mulvanny hovering in the goalmouth, he caught, turned and fired it to the net for a great goal, leaving the half-time score Oldcastle 1-12, Blackhall Gaels 1-01.

A good start saw Oldcastle clock up five unanswered points, but a Blackhall Gaels penalty followed by a goal brought them back into the match. Oldcastle soon regrouped however, a Ryan Kevin converted free getting the scoreboard ticking again. A great ball from Cormac O’Connell to James Gibney and on to Eoin Smith then found Ciaran Connell, he played it lovely before getting it back to the well positioned Eoin for the next. A goal from Rory Crawley then put it beyond reach, and when the final whistle blew it was on a score of Oldcastle 2-20, BHG 3-04.

The final round takes place on Sunday 20th October at 11am in Moynalty.

Oldcastle: Eoin Muldoon, Fionn McCabe, Lloyd Colleran, James Gibney, Cormac O’Connell, Ciaran Connell, Rory Crawley (1-01), Ryan Kevin (0-04), Brian Hetherton (0-02), Paul Hennessy (0-01), Tom Lynch, Eoin Smith (0-06), J.P. Purcell (0-03), Rian Mulvanny (1-03)