Meath made to fight for victory over Cavan in the Gerry Reilly U16 FT

Meath 2-17 Cavan 2-14
Cavan started strongly in the first of the 2 Gerry Reilly U16 FT Semi-Finals played in Millbrook, Oldcastle on Saturday morning (23/7/22). They had a goal attempt cleared for a 45 after a great save. After their opening score from a free, another goal chance was cleared by the Meath defence. Cavan had the wind and the rain showers in their backs and had another point before Meath registered their first score from a long free. Billy Smyth pointed to have the sides level before Cavan added 2 more to their tally.
A great Meath move saw Cian Commons pass to John Harkin for Meath’s first goal and the lead. Cavan regained the lead with 2 Shane Donoghue pointed frees. Meath’s second goal was finished to the net by Billy Smyth after a pass from Rory Crawley putting Meath ahead again.
H/T: Meath 2-3 Cavan 0-6
Meath now had the wind in their backs and raced into a commanding lead of 2-10 to 0-8 and looked home and dry. However Cavan had other ideas and 2 quick goals from Darragh Noonan and Dylan Edwards had them back in the game. 3 further Cavan points had them back in the lead. The sides went on to draw level on 3 separate occasions before Meath finished with 3 unanswered points in to injury time.
Credit to both teams for a terrific game of football despite the wind and rain showers.

Scorers for Meath: John Harkin (1-6,4f), Billy Smyth (1-1), Liam Jennings (0-3), Michael McIvor & Kyle Ennis (0-2 each), Cian Commons, Naoise Maguire & Aarion O’Rourke (0-1each)

Scorers for Cavan: Dylan Edwards & Daragh Noonan (1-1each), Shane Donoghue (0-4,4f), Ben Tully & Jake Whyte (0-2each), Ciaran Caldwelll, Luke Allison, Donnacha Maguire, and Jack Tobin (0-1each)

Meath: Jamie McCormack Dunboyne, Jack Lifford O’Mahony’s, Paddy White Ratoath, Cormac Liggan Dunderry, Tom Lenehan Skryne, John Gormley Gaeil Colmcille, Ciaran O’Hare Rathkenny, Cian Commons Sensechalstown, David Donnelly Bective, Billy Smyth Skryne, John Harkin Dunboyne, Michael McIvor St Vincent’s, Aaron O’Rourke Trim, Liam Jennings Blackhall Gaels, Rory Crawley Oldcastle
Subs: Óisin Yore Carnaross for Kyle Ennis Trim for Crawley, Andrew Gormley Gaeil Colmcille for O’Rourke, Óisin Yore Carnaross for Smyth, Óisin Yore Carnaross for Donnelly, Óisin Yore Carnaross for Lifford, Padraig Walsh Trim for White

Cavan: Zach Pepper Ballyhaise, Philip Shannon Butlersbridge, Ciaran Caldwell Castlerahan, Jensen Tynan Ramor, Luke Allison Butlersbridge, Donnacha Maguire Shannon Gaels, Eanna Ward Arva, Dylan Edwards Templeport, Dylan McKeever Gowna, Daragh Noonan Killygarry, Ben Tully Cavan Gaels, Ben O’Hara Ramor, Jake Whyte Cootehill, Shane Donoghue Gowna, Caoimhin Magee Kingscourt
Subs: Finn Buckley Lavey for Pepper, Jack Tobin Maghera for O’Hara, Conor Suarpe Mullahoran for Whyte, Joe Dugdale Butlersbridge for Noonan

Ref: Peter Skelly