Dublin run out deserved winners in the final

Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Final
(played Sunday, 26 August, 2013 in Millbrook, Oldcastle)

Dublin 3-8 Meath 1-11

AFTER defeating Meath by nine points in the ’round robin’ stage Dublin confirmed their superiority over the Royals in the final of the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT at Oldcastle on Sunday evening.

However this was a more closely-fought encounter with opening half goals from Sean O’Meara and Colm Basquel proving decisive for the winners.

Dublin laid the foundations for victory throughout that first period, at the end of which they led 2-6 to 0-5.

The hosts were left to rue a number of missed chances during the opening half but enjoyed a good spell in the second quarter during which they reduced a five point deficit to just two by the 20th minute.

Dublin finished the half stronger with the lively Basquel finding the net on 25 minutes and Glenn O’Reilly adding a point.

Meath fared much better in the second half with three points from Daire Rowe (two frees), and another from Stephen Duffy by the 38th minute before Dublin opened their account with a goal from Warren Egan.

Rowe eventually took his tally of points to six and then laid on the final pass for Shane Cumiskey to find the net on 53 minutes.

That left it 3-7 to 1-11 and set up a lively finish but it was the physically stronger Dubs who ended deserving winners.

Claire Reilly (mother of Gerry Reilly) presented the cup to Dublin’s captain, Colm Basquel after the final whistle.

Martin Skelly, Chairperson of Leinster Council, presented the ‘Man of the match’ award to Dublin’s Alasdair Fitzgerald.

Barney Allen, Chairperson of Coiste na Mhí, presented the medals to both teams.

Dublin: Colm Basquel 1-5 (0-4f), Sean O’Meara, Warren Egan 1-0 each, Glenn O’Reilly, Chris Sallier, Aaron Byrne 0-1 each.

Meath: Daire Rowe 0-6 (4f), Shane Cumiskey 1-0, Stephen Duffy 0-2, Sean Power, Brian McGrath, Philip Darcy 0-1 each.

Dublin: Dillon Rafferty (St Olafs); Eddie Duffy (St Vincents), Andrew Foley (Clontarf), Stephen Ward (Ballyboden St Endas); Dylan Connolly (St Vincents), Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna), Aodhan Fee (Naomh Mearnog); Alasdair Fitzgerald (Na Fianna), Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St Endas); Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna), Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Endas), Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis); Sean O’Meara (St Vincents), Con O’Callaghan (Cuala), Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna).
Subs: Jack Mullins (Castleknock) for Ward, Even Whelan (Trinity Gaels) for Sallier, Sean Keating (Kilmacud Crokes) for O’Meara and Warren Egan (Ballyboden St Endas) for O’Reilly.

Meath: Jonathan Lynch (Moynalty); Ronan McDonagh (Clann na nGael), Gavin McGowan (Ratoath), Dan Ormsby (Dunshaughlin); James Reilly (Gaeil Colmcille), Stephen Crosbie (Rathkenny), Harry Purcell (Trim); Sean Power (St Cuthberts), Kyle Dixon (Boardsmill); Stephen Duffy (Dunshaughlin), Shane Cumiskey (Dunboyne/Kilbride), Corey Leddy (O’Mahonys); Brian McGrath (Simonstown Gaels), Daire Rowe (Killary Emmets), Philip Darcy (Dunboyne/Kilbride).
Subs: Dylan Brady (Donaghmore/Ashbourne) for Ormsby, Brian Harnan (Moynalvey) for Leddy, Chris O’Neill (Simonstown Gaels) for Darcy and Declan McGuinness (O’Mahonys) for McGrath.

Referee: Fergal Kelly (Longford)

Results: Gerry Reilly U-16 FT 2012
Sun. 1 July Meath 4-4 Westmeath 1-10
Mon. 2 July Dublin rec. w/o Louth
Sun. 8 July Meath 0-15 Louth 1-7
Sat. 14 July Westmeath 2-10 Louth 0-9
Sun. 15 July Dublin 2-12 Westmeath 3-7
Dublin 4-15 Meath 3-9
Sun. 25 August Dublin 3-8 Meath 1-11 (Final)

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date:
Westmeath 1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010, 2011
Meath 1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2007
Dublin 1993, 1998, 2008 (U-17 Blitz), 2012
Cavan 1997, 2004, 2006