Strong performance from Meath in their opening game of the Gerry Reilly Leinster U16 FT

Meath 3-19 Louth 1-9
Meath proved too strong for Louth in the Rd.2 game of the Gerry Reilly Leinster U16 FT played this afternoon in Millbrook, Oldcastle. They had 1-1 on the scoreboard with a fisted point and a goal from Niall Finnerty before Louth’s first score from a free. Goals from Barry Thompson and Harry Ryan put Meath on in a very strong position. They led at the break by 3-7 to 0-6.

An early goal in the second half gave hope to Louth, but Meath finished off the game with 8 unanswered points.

Scorers for Meath: Barry Thompson 1-6, Niall Finnerty 1-3, Pearse Sheridan 0-5, Harry Ryan 1-1, Oisin Miland 0-2, Josh Carolan & Evan Corrigan 0-1 each
Scorers for Louth: Luke Mathews 1-5, Ben Collier, Thomas Rice, Conall McCaul & Craig Shevlin 0-1 each

Meath: Dean Pluck Ballinabrackey, Evan Quinn Donaghmore/Ashbourne, James McGovern (Drumbaragh), Mark Donnelly (Ratoath), Harry Ryan (Ballinlough), Brian Cassidy (Kilmainhamwood), Darren Connell (Oldcastle), Josh Carolan (Simonstown) (C), Endy Ehichoya (St Colmcilles), Evan Corrigan (Wolfe Tones), Pearse Sheridan (Oldcastle),
Shane Smyth (Skryne), Niall Finnerty (Skryne), Barry Thompson (Ballinabrackey), Aaron Chinchilla (Simonstown)
Subs: Cian O’Farrell (Ratoath), Peter Brennan (Trim), Abdul Olaosebikan (St Patrick’s), Lee Walsh (Dunderry), Rodney Jones (Donaghmore/Ashbourne), Cian McGlynn (Carnaross), Cian Flynn (St Colmcille’s), Jamie O’Shea (Summerhill), Conor Ownes (Meath Hill), Jamie Browne Donaghmore Ashbourne Oisin Miland (Duleek/Bellewstown), Jamie Flynn (Walterstown)

Louth: Jack Lynch (Naomh Martin), Peter Lynch (Roche Emmets), Evan Maher (St Kevin’s), Aaron Lawlor (O Raghallaighs), James McDonnell (Roche Emmets), Daniel McArdle (St Brides), Ryan Cash (St Mochtas), Aaron Crawford (Kilkerley Emmets),
Harry O’Neill (St Fechins), Ben Collier (St Joseph’s), Ben Smyth (O Raghallaighs),
Thomas Rice (Sean O Mahonys), Tom Grey (Naomh Martin), Luke Matthews (St Marys),
Fintan Watters (Roche Emmets)
Subs: Connell Rice O Raghallaighs, Podge Downey St Nicholas, Ewan Sweeney O Raghallaighs, Gerard Bourton Glyde Rangers, Aaron Carolan Cooley Kickhams, Tony Smith O Raghallaighs, Timmy Connolly Geraldine’s, Tadhg Donnelly Dreadnots, MJ Hanlon Cooley Kickhams, Conall McCaul St Joseph’s, Craig Shevlin Dreadnots, Patrick Murtagh Kilkerley Emmets, Aiden Kane Geraldine’s, Adam Flynn Mattock Rangers, Darren Connor St Patrick’s, Aaron Mills St Patrick’s, Dylan Lynch O Raghallaighs, Rory O Neill O Raghallaighs, Eoin Flanagan Geraldine’s, Peter Meegan St Fechins, Aiden Grant Roche Emmets, Carl Gillespie St Marys, Niall Brady Cooley Kickhams, Padraic Mc Kinney St Marys

Referee: Ryan Tynan (Cavan)