Oldcastle U-15’s book final date with Blackhall Gaels

Oldcastle 6-21 St Colmcille’s 3-1

Yet another final for Oldcastle as the Under 15’s made no mistake to book their place in next week’s final. Dj Monaghan opened the scoring in the first minute with a well taken point. This was followed by a Ryan Kevin goal from the next play.

St Colmcille’s had a chance to get off the mark but Colin Halpin intercepted the ball in the full back line and after some great team play Jack Murphy converted. Pearse Sheridan, James McCluskey and JP Purcell added points before Pearse Sheridan fired to the net. St Colmcille’s finally got off the mark in the 13th minute with a goal to leave the score Oldcastle 2-6 St Colmcilles 1-0.
James McCluskey replied with a point and after some good work from Mark Coyle he lay the ball off to Pearse Sheridan who scored another point. Oldcastle were in control and continued to keep the score board ticking over despite having a number of bad wides.

The visitors scored a second goal, but as the half came to a close Dj Monaghan saw his shot rebound of the post into the arms of Matthew Cahill who slotted the ball coolly past the St Colmcille’s keeper to leave the half time score Oldcastle 3-14 St Colmcille 2-1.

Oldcastle hit the ground running in the second half with a goal from Pearse Sheridan. Mark Coyle was finding more space and scored 3 points from play. The wet and worn pitch in Millbrook was making it heavy going for the lads, but that did not stop Kane Cullen getting on the end of a long ball to score a point. Pearse Sheridan grabbed another goal before Matthew Cahill finished to the net for his second goal of the game. The visitors scored a late goal but it was all a little too late to leave the final score Oldcastle 6-21 St Colmcille 3-1.

Oldcastle will now take on Blackhall Gaels in the final next Sunday, 19 November, in Dunganny at 11.00 am.

Oldcastle: Ross McCann, Darren Kavanagh, Colin Halpin, Brian Hetherton, Conor Boylan, Darren Connell, Lloyd Colleran, James McCluskey (0-5), Pearse Sheridan (3-6), Dj Monaghan (0-1), Jack Murphy (0-3), Jp Purcell (0-1), Ryan Kevin (1-1), Mark Coyle (0-3), Matthew Cahill (2-0)
Subs: James Tuite, Sean Chatten, Eoin Muldoon, Kane Cullen(0-1)