Oldcastle into U-15 Final

Oldcastle 2-24 Blackhall Gaels 2-03

A freezing fog descended on Millbrook this morning (Sunday, 3 Nov.2019) as Oldcastle and Blackhall Gaels took to the field to fight for a spot in the U-15 final. The first play of the game finished with the speedy Eoin Smith being pulled to the ground, and the resultant free converted by Ryan Kevin. Soon after, a lovely ball from Brian Hetherton to Eoin Smith was dispatched over the bar for a lovely point. A good blockdown by Alan Gilsenan saw the ball move upfield to Ryan, on to J.P. Purcell who was fouled, the free being dropped in to Kane Cullen in the box, his brilliant pass found J.P. running in again with the result being the ball in the back of the net and the green flag waved.

More points followed from Eoin Smith and Ciaran Connell, with Rian Mulvanny also contributing a goal, but the majority of Oldcastle scores were coming from J.P. being persistently fouled every time he got the ball, and Ryan converting, to leave the half-time score Oldcastle 2-15, Blackhall Gaels 1-01.

Rory Crawley was enjoying his new position at wing-back, and took the first point of the second half, before a super Eoin Muldoon kick-out was caught brilliantly by Ryan Kevin, who fed it upfield via Tom Lynch, on to J.P. and finally to Ciaran Connell who was moving at pace and hoofed it straight between the posts.

James Gibney, Lloyd Colleran and Fionn McCabe were working hard in defence, blocking and clearing nearly every Blackhall Gaels attempt at scoring, with nearly every score they did get taken by the big No. 11 who also plays rugby for Leinster and used his strength to barge through.

Cormac O’Connell and Brian Hetherton were dominating midfield, while Kane Cullen was whizzing up and down the wings. Oldcastle kept the scores coming, with Tom Lynch and Alan Gilsenan also contributing points, and when the final whistle blew it was on a score of Oldcastle 2-24, Blackhall Gaels 2-03.

A great team performance today, with every single player standing up and giving their all. That sees the lads through to the final against Kilmainhamwood, fixture tbc.

Oldcastle: Eoin Muldoon, James Gibney, Lloyd Colleran, Fionn McCabe, Rory Crawley (0-01), Cormac O’Connell, Brian Hetherton, Ciaran Connell (0-03), Ryan Kevin 0-11 (0-10f), Alan Gilsenan (0-01), Eoin Smith (0-04), Tom Lynch (0-01), J.P. Purcell (1-03), Rian Mulvanny (1-00), Kane Cullen.