14 man Nobber hold out for a draw

Oldcastle 0-12 Nobber 1-09
Nobber made their intentions clear at the start, with a fine point straight from the throw-in at Carnaross this evening. Robbie Farrelly levelled it up for Oldcastle, but Nobber took a point straight after, before being awarded a penalty which they also converted, followed by another free. Oldcastle were now trailing by five, and worked hard for the next score: Paddy Rahill getting the ball to Terry Farrelly, on via Stephen Lawless and Jason Scully, upfield to Darren Hawdon and Lawless again, in to Ger Reidy and back to Terry who chipped it nicely in to the ever-ready C.J. Healy for a lovely point. That settled the nerves, and was followed soon after by a Nobber red card for a high tackle. Colin Hawdon, making his Championship debut, took the next two scores for Oldcastle. Nobber were then awarded another penalty, but Brian Farrell smashed it into the crossbar: it rebounded to his team-mate and was sent straight back over for a point.
Between penalties and high tackles Oldcastle goalie Packie Kevin was having a busy time of it throughout. A point from Jason Scully and a free for Nobber left it Oldcastle 0-05, Nobber 1-06 at half-time.

Oldcastle looked the better team in the second-half, with the first four scores from the super boot of Robbie Farrelly. Jason Scully contributed one, before great work from Louis Colleran – another championship debut – got the ball upfield to Lawless and on to the hardworking Paddy Rahill who was fouled: Robbie Farrelly converted to level the match for the first time.
With that the momentum stalled however, the remaining fifteen minutes of the match saw numerous missed chances and dodgy passes from Oldcastle, and they will feel they left this one behind them. Another point apiece from both sides left it level at the final whistle

Next up is Oldcastle v Ballinlough (Rd.2) on Sunday next, 14th April @ 3.30 pm in Pairc Tailteann.

Oldcastle: Packie Kevin, Louis Colleran, Cian McPartland, Oran O’Reilly, Steven Lawless, Ger Reidy, Terry Farrelly, Ronan Maguire, Paddy Rahill, C.J. Healy (0-01), Darren Hawdon, Robbie Farrelly (0-07), Paddy Gilsenan, Jason Scully (0-02), Colin Hawdon (0-02).
Subs: Rory McHugh, Dylan Garrigan, Keith Connell.