U-16’s defence hold out for 3rd win in the Summer FL

Oldcastle 1 – 10 Clann na nGael 1 – 7

Oldcastle secured their 3rd win in 4 outings with a 3 point victory over Clann na nGael in the U-16 Summer League played in Millbrook (28th July 2015). Robbie Smith opened the score with a point with 2 minutes on the clock. Ronan Taggart added two points the second of which was a result of some good work by Lee Healy. Dylan Garrigan gathered a loose ball in his own half back line and the ball was worked up the field and Lee Healy grabbed a score of his own.

Clann na nGael pushed to get on the score board, but Louis Colleran stopped the attack and set the ball moving up the field and Healy converted again. A long ball into the full forward line was won by Ryan Maguire who despite a lot of pressure set up Kyle Kavanagh who blasted to the net. Robbie Smith was next to get on the score board as he cut in from the left wing to fire a long range effort over the bar. Mossy Flood, Cillian Eager and Keith Connell were doing very well and cut out a number of chances. At that stage it was 1 – 6 to 0 – 0,  however Clann na nGael finally registered a point on the 16th minute mark. This kick started the Athboy side and they rallied well to add another 5 points to Oldcastle 1 point in the final 14 minutes of the second half to leave the half time score Oldcastle 1 – 7 Clann na nGael 0-6.

Clann na nGael had a lot of chances early in the second half to close the gap, but blasted the ball wide on two occasions with the goal at their mercy. Kyle Kavanagh grabbed a point for the home side and a Ronan Taggart shot drop over via the upright to keep the score board ticking over. The Athboy side were pushing hard for a goal but Karl Gibney pulled off a great save. Following the save the ball was bouncing around inside the small square however Dylan Garrigan through himself at the ball to complete the clearance. Clann na nGael had yet another chance of a goal but the defenders put the bodies in the way to deny the visitors. As the clock ticked down the Oldcastle rear guard was finally breached when Clann na nGael finished to the net, however it was too little too late as Oldcastle ran out worthy winners.

Oldcastle: Karl Gibney, Louis Colleran, Keith Connell, Cillian Eager, Dylan Garrigan, Mossy Flood, Stephen Milmoe, Robbie Smith (0-2), Ronan Taggart (0-3), Kyle Kavanagh (1-3), Eoin McCluskey, Lee Healy(0-2), Josh Halpin, Ryan Maguire, Cillian Connell