U-13’s record back to back wins in the Inter County Club FL

Oldcastle 14-10 Maynooth 0-0

Our U-13s had a good win over Maynooth in the Leinster Cross County league yesterday (11 Feb.2017) in Millbrook. Rory Crawley took the first point for Oldcastle, before Fionn McCabe found himself near the goals and at the good end of an Eoin Smith pass, to take a great kick and a goal for Oldcastle. A fast action first half saw lots of play, the next good move for Oldcastle saw Paul Hennessy get the ball up to J.P. Purcell, who moved it to Fionn McCabe and back to Paul who scored a lovely goal.
Ryan Kevin then took a nice point, followed by a Rian Mulvaney goal, to leave the score Oldcastle 3-02, Maynooth 0-00 at Half Time.
Lloyd Colleran had a superb second half, scoring 5 points within ten minutes, while Kealan Swinburne was playing a blinder in goals. Jamie Keatinge was brought on, and straight away blasted a goal for the home side, followed by another by Tomas Kizelis within a minute. Oldcastle were cruising at this stage.
Ryan Kevin added the next point, followed by a hard won point from J.P., but all the action was down at the Maynooth end for the next while, culminating in two great saves in twenty seconds by goalie Kealan Swinburne.
Paul Hennessy was away and heading for Castlepollard with the next score, a lovely goal for Oldcastle. Jamie Keatinge added a brace of goals, and with more scores from Rian Mulvaney it was an easy win in the end. A great display of football from the whole team today, hard work in defence enabling the forwards, and plenty of excellent hand-passing on display. Maynooth were finding it very hard to get out of their own half, and any that did came up against a tough midfield.

The lads travel to take on Donaghmore/Ashbourne in the last fixture of this league on Saturday 25th February.

Oldcastle: Jamie Keatinge (3-00), Cormac O’Connell, Brian Hetherton, Colm Gibson, Jack Kellett, Lloyd Colleran (0-05), Fionn McCabe (1-00), Paul Hennessy (2-00), J.P.Purcell (0-01), Tomas Kizelis (2-00), Rory Crawley (1-01), Ryan Kevin (1-03), Rian Mulvaney (3-00), Eoin Smith (1-00), Eoin Muldoon, Kealan Swinburne.


Team have a bye next weekend.

(Report later)