Simonstown’s Ladies crowned Junior C FC Champions

Simonstown 3-16 Oldcastle 2-8

Simonstown ladies adult second team won the inaugural Junior C Football Championship on Friday night (16 Sept.2016) in ideal conditions in Skyrne.
Oldcastle were the first team out of the blocks with two well taken points. However, Simonstown gradually found their rhythm with Rachael Flynn and Tara Berrigan slotting over points which settled their side’s early nerves.
At the interval Simonstown led by seven points to three but in reality there was very little to separate the sides at this point.

It was only after a goal from Simonstown’s Rachael Flynn early in the second half, after great approach play from Lauryn Grier, that the sky blue and navy side really got into their stride and Flynn bagged her second minutes later with Tara Berrigan this time the provider.

By this stage the momentum was fully with the Navan girls. Meabh Hanrahan, Lauryn Grier, Berrigan and Mollie Bynre chipped in soon after with more points to further widen the gap. Mollie Byrne grabbed her side’s third goal with ten minutes remaining to seal the deal. However, Oldcastle never threw in the towel in this one and got two goals back in the second half.

At the back for Simonstown,  Grainne Harrington and captain, Laura Barrett marshalled a defence which gave their opponents little room to manoeuvre. Goalkeeper Laura McCabe’s kickouts always found their targets and at midfield Alanagh Lyons and Meabh Hanrahan kept a steady supply of quality ball going in to a lively Simonstown forward line where Berrigan, Grier, Byrne and player of the match Flynn were a constant threat throughout.

For Oldcastle Anna Maxwell and Orla Smith were always dangerous at midfield while Niamh Foy and Aoibhinn Timmons were full of running up front.

A perfect finish to an enjoyable campaign for the Navan girls.

Simonstown: Laura McCabe, Pauline Flanagan, Grainne Harrington, Laura Barrett (Captain), Emily McAteer, Aoife Farrell, Leanne Harris, Meabh Hanrahan, Alanagh Lyons, Anu Balogun, Mollie Byrne, Lauryn Grier, Rachel Flynn, Tara Berrigan, Ann-Marie Carragher
Subs: Sara O’Sullivan, Sinead Mooney, Caoimhe Leddy, Lana Wardick, Eunice Ayelobola, Evelyn Ayelobola, Megan Gorman, Rachel Abu, Orla Conlon, Matilda Ryan, Eimear Flanagan.

Oldcastle: Emily Jo White, Lisa Brennan, Niamh Plunkett, Helen Morris (Joint Captain), Ruth McDonald, Gillian McGinn, Caoimhe Sheridan, Anna Maxwell, Orla Smith, Ally Farrelly, Aoife Caffrey, Rebecca Farrelly, Aoibhinn Timmons, Niamh Foy, Emer Delaney
Subs: Michaela Monaghan, Amanda O’Reilly, Aideen O’Neill (Joint Captain), Niamh McKenna, Cliodhna Caffrey, Aoife Maguire, Ashley Leavy, Sinead Coyle, Ciara Lawless, Ciara McDonnell


(Report in the