Monaghan come out on top in thriller

Monaghan 0-10 Dublin 0-9
A pity the rain came to make conditions tough for both teams, but that did not prevent all in attendance seeing an incredible game of football that went down to the wire. It was Monaghan that held out in the end to claim victory over Dublin in this 2nd round game of the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT played in Millbrook, Oldcastle on Sunday evening.
Dublin had the wind in the first half, but it was Monaghan who had the dream start with 3 unanswered points from Donnach Swinburne, and Sean Jones. By the15th minute, Dublin had the sides level with 2 Mark O’Leary converted pointed frees and Thomas O’Neill point. Donnach Swinburne regained the lead for Monaghan. On the 30th minute a Mark O’Leary point from a free had the sides level Well into injury time. Alex O’Neill regained the lead with a fine point. Dublin ended the half with 6 wides to Monaghan’s 2 wides.
H/T: Dublin 0-5 Monaghan 0-4
On the restart Dublin substitute, Rory Whelan stretched their lead, only for Monaghan to reply with 2 points to have the sides level for the 3rd time. The game was been played with great intensity and commitment for both sides and a treasure to witness. The sides were to be level a 4th time after 2 Monaghan points saw Dublin scoring 2 points.
Dublin’s ‘keeper brought off a great save on Monaghan’s goal attempt which eventually saw Donnach Swinburne get a point to put Monaghan ahead again. Dublin’s Mark Lavin pointed to have the sides level once more. Donnach Swinburne pointed in the 53rd minute to put Monaghan ahead by the minimum.
It was ‘end to end’ stuff with both sides failing to convert many chances and with no quarter given by the defences.
What a game and many ways a pity there had to be a loser, but overall Monaghan deserved their victory.

Monaghan’s, Arron Mulligan, was presented with the RESPA ‘Man of the match’ award by Dermot Monaghan (Secretary, Oldcastle GFC)

Monagahan: Ryan Farrelly, James Clerkin, Jack McKeown, Micheal Meehan, Ronan Grimes, Jack Doogan, Conor Corrigan, Gavin McPhilips, Lochlain Power, Oisin Fagan, Robbie Hanratty, Sean Jones (0-1), Donnach Swinburne (0-4,1f), Aaron Mulligan (0-3), Ronan McKeown
Subs: Larry McCluskey for Farrelly (inj), David Irwin (0-1) for McPhilips, Mark Mooney (0-1,f) for Jones, Josh Mone for McKeown

Dublin: Sean Bohan, Conor O’Brien, Evan Brooks, Robert Halpin, Finn Chatten, Enda Cashman (0-1), Craig Davis, Alex O’Neill (0-1), Adam Fearon, Conor Lowe, Lorcan O’Del, Mark O’Leary (0-3,3f), Conor Guilfoyle, Tomas O’Neill (0-1), Aaron O’Toole
Subs: Sean Foran (0-2) for Lowe, Mark Lavin (0-1) for O’Toole, Adam McDermott for Fearon, David Bohan for O’Neill, Euan Farquarson for Davis

Ref: Margaret Farrelly (Cavan)