LMFM Minor Football Championship Div 2 Champions 2015

2015 MFC Div 2 Presentation


Oldcastle 3-11 Jenkinstown Gaels 3-10
A great year for Oldcastle Minors as they bring their second cup over the mountain after claiming the LMFM Division 2 MFC overcoming Jenkinstown Gaels in Pairc Tailteann on Saturday afternoon (31 Oct.2015).
Conor Delaney got the scoring off the mark after 30 seconds with good work up the field from Jason Scully, Stephen Lawless and Oran O’Reilly.
Great work from Mossy Flood in defence counteracted any Jenkinstown Gaels attack in the early stages.
But Jenkinstown Gaels, however, got the start they needed with a goal after four minutes. Jenkinstown Gaels had the momentum from here and hit another 1-02 unanswered. A good save by Karl Gibney ensured that they didn’t hit a third goal within 5 minutes. Robbie Smith won the ball at Midfield and worked along with CJ Healy and Oran O’Reilly to land the ball in Jason Scully’s hands as he took on the Jenkinstown Gaels ‘keeper and made no mistake to bring Oldcastle back into the game.
The sides traded scores for the next five minutes but with CJ Healy converting a penalty after a foul on Conor Delaney there was just 2 points between them after 17 minutes. Jenkinstown Gaels hit over three more in the last quarter, but Dylan Garrigan was on hand to counteract a Jenkinstown Gaels attack and send the ball back up the pitch where an Oldcastle free was awarded. CJ Healy sent over another, but it wasn’t enough to reduce the deficit as Jenkinstown Gaels were awarded a penalty in the closing stages of the first half. Jason Scully hit over another free before the half time whistle leaving 6 points between the sides at the break and Oldcastle with all to do in the second half.

H/T: Jenkinstown Gaels 3-6 Oldcastle 2-3

Although Jenkinstown Gaels were first of the mark in the second half, it was Oldcastle who dominated the third quarter with a great run from Dylan Garrigan and sending over his first of the game. Jason Scully sent over another free and CJ Healy was on target again following good defence from Garrigan and Lawless.
Oldcastle had the momentum and the forwards showed great work ethic as they cut off the Jenkinstown Gaels attack. Again good work from Lawless in defence and Keith Connell resulted in Robbie Smith reducing the Jenkinstowns Gael’s advantage. While Oldcastle were building, there were still faced with a three point disadvantage heading into the last ten minutes of the game.  With Scully winning the ball at midfield, Smith was on hand to support and send the ball into Shane Quinn who pointed for Oldcastle. Jenskinstown sent over their last score of the game with 3 minutes to go leaving 3 between the sides, but with Garrigan winning the Oldcastle kickout and sending the ball down to Healy, who kicked a brilliant ball into the square where Ronan Taggart got a hand to finish it in the back of the net.
With the minimal left on the clock plus injury time, neither side wanted to let this slip away. It was Oldcastle who got the break being given a 40 yard free which would be the final kick of the game. Jason Scully stepped up and held his nerve as he sent over the winning point for Oldcastle claiming the MFC Division 2 title.

A terrific second half display from Oldcastle earned them the honours.

Oldcastle’s Captain, Conor Delaney was presented with the Liam Tolan Cup by John Kavanagh (Coiste fe 18,  Chairperson), Alphie & Teresa Tolan (Liam’s parents) & Brendan Cummins (LMFM)

Oldcastle: K.Gibney, M.Flood, M.Taggart, D.Garrigan (0-1), C.McKenna, K.Connell, S.Lawless, O.O’Reilly, J.Scully (1-05), R.Smith (0-1), C.Delaney (0-1), R.Taggart (1-0), K.Kavangh, Cj Healy (1-02), S.Quinn (0-1).
Subs: L.Healy for C. Mckenna (HT), S.Milmoe for C.Delaney (34Minutes) J.Disney.


2015 MFC Div 2 Champions Panel