Meath into the Semi’s of the Gerry Reilly U16 FT

Meath 5-20 Clare 0-6

Meath proved too strong for Clare in the Gerry Reilly U16 FT game played in Millbrook, Oldcastle this afternoon in ideal conditions. It was nip and tuck for the first 10 minutes and Clare could have taken an early lead, but were thwarted by a brilliant save by the Meath ‘keeper, Fionn Timmons out for a 45. Soon after Meath took complete control and went on to lead by 2-11 to 0-2 at the break.

Both sides cleared their benches as Meath’s dominance continued in the second half with 2 early goals that left Clare in an unassailable position.

Meath: Fionn Timmons Clann na nGael, AJ Bradshaw St Mary’s, Paddy White Ratoath, Cormac Liggan Dunderry, Tiernan Anderson Gaeil Colmcille, John Gormley Gaeil Colmcille, Shea McManus Round Towers, Cian Commons Sensechalstown, David Donnelly Bective, Billy Smyth Skryne, John Harkin Dunboyne, Ciaran O’Hare Rathkenny, Óisin O’Neill Dunderry, Liam Jennings Blackhall Gaels, Andrew Gormley Gaeil Colmcille

Subs: Jack O’Regan Skryne, Tom Lenehan Skryne, Jack Lifford O’Mahony’s, Naoise Maguire St. Colmcille’s, Ben Sullivan St Patrick’s, Óisin Walsh Gaeil Colmcille,  Jack Doran Donaghamore/Ashbourne (all subs played)

Scorers for Meath: John Harkin (2-2), Liam Jennings (2-1),  Naiise Maguire (1-1), Andrew Gormley (0-3), Cian Commons, David Donnelly, Billy Smith and Ben Sullivan (0-2 each),  Ciaran O’Hare, John Gormley, Shea McManus, Óisin O’Neill  and JackDoran (0-1 each)

Clare: Luke Kennedy St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield, Niall Twomey St.Joseph’s Milltown Malbay, Kevin O’Mara Kilkee, Conor Rynne Ennistymon, Kevin Marrinan Cooraclare, Paddy Nagle St.Joseph’s Doora Barefield, Ronan Kilroy The Banner, Ennis, Evan Cahill Kilmurray Ibrickane, Eoin Kennedy Clondegad, Dara Howley St. Breckan’s, Ben Skerrit Lisseycasey, Conall Casey Kildysart, Jamie Sheehan Kildysart, Conor McCarthy Clooney Quin, Ralph Whelehan St.Joseph’s Milltown Malbay

Subs: Stephen Davoran Lisseycasey for Kennedy, Aaron Townsend Cooraclare for Rynne, Seanie MacMahon Ennistymon, Kaden Deegan Herlihy The Banner, Ennis for Skerrit, Eoin Carey Cratloe for Marrinan,  Luke Minogue Clondegad for Sheehan

Scorers for Clare: Seanie McMahon (0-3), Roan Kilroy, Evan Cahill and Kaden Deegan Herlihy (0-1each)

Ref: Andrew Smith