Meath in first Gerry Reilly Cup Final since 2012

Meath 5-18 Laois 1-6
In the second half of the Rd.3 match in the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Meath took complete control in their win over Laois. The game was played on a beautiful Sunday evening in Millbrook, Oldcastle, with a large crowd in attendance basking in the sunshine.
Meath had a dream start with points from Darragh Swaine, Bryan McCormack, and Luke Mitchell (2f) before Darragh Swaine got Meath’s first goal in the 9th minute. Adam Treanor pointed for Meath to lead 1-5 to 0-0 before Ross Bolger pointed for Laois from a free.
Laois were getting back into the game and were rewarded with a great goal by Seamus Farrelly. Sean Michael Corcoran got 2 points to leave just two between the sides and it looked like Laois were going to make a real battle of it. However it was Meath who finished the half the strongest with 3 unanswered points (including 2 frees)
H/T: Meath 1-8 Laois 1-3
On the restart, Laois had a great chance of a goal only to be denied by a great save by Meath ‘keeper, Sam Coughlan. Luke Mitchell’s goal put Meath back in the driving seat and they went on to add seven points to their tally to a pointed free for Laois in this period.
Meath were creating all the chances that included 2 Brian O’Hanlon goals. There was no stopping Meath now. They know that they’ll have a tough task on hand when they play Monaghan in the Cup Final in a fortnight. It will be a game not to be missed!

Laois never gave up, despite the scoreline, and they now play Dublin in the Plate Final.

Meath’s, Darragh Swaine was presented with the RESPA ‘Man of the match’ award y Bobby Kellett (Kelletts Oldcastle Ltd)

Meath: Sam Coughlan, James O’Hare, Luke Newe, Conor Farrelly, Colin Hawdon(C) (0-1), Jaeic Timmons, Oisin McCloskkey, Adam Reilly, Killian Hogan, Adam Treanor, Darragh Swaine (0-4), Bryan McCormack (1-1), Adam Kelly (1-1), Luke Mitchell (1-7,5f), Brian O’Hanlon (2-3).
Subs: Niall Bennett for Reilly, Killian Price (0-1) for McCloskey, David Carr for Hawdon, Adam Barrett for Farrelly, Cathal Hickey for Treanor, Conor Hetherton(C)for Newe

Laois: Tom Wright, Cathal Bennett, Sean O’Neill, Mickey Bennett, Brian Fingleton, Ciaran Byrne, Adam Dunne, Sean Michael Corcoran (0-3,1f), Ned Ryan, Damon Larkin, Enda McWey (1-1, if), Seamis Farrelly, Ross Bulger (0-1), Cathal Doyle, Mark O’Connell
Subs: Seth Mooney for McWey, Eoin Fitzpatrick for Swayne, Brian Dunne for Ryan, Jack Tobin for Larkin, Ben Conroy for O’Connell, Matt Kelly (0-1) for Doyle

Ref: Margaret Farrelly (Cavan)