Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Round 1 games this weekend

This year will marks the 27th Anniversary of the Gerry Reilly Memorial U-16 Inter-County Football Tournament played in July every year.
The tournament gets underway tomorrow, Saturday, 2 July when Westmeath take on Longford. Longford are taking part for the first time and have a tough assignment taking on the team with the best record in the Gerry Reilly FT.
On Sunday, 4 July Meath take on Wicklow, while defending champions, Cavan, take on Louth

The competition has proved a great success in providing a platform to launch inter-county football careers. This is backed up with so many players from all the participating teams making it all the way to represent their senior county teams at the highest level. Indeed many went on to be Football All-Stars

Gerry Reilly U-16 FT 2016
Group A:  Cavan, Louth, Meath, Wicklow
Group B:  Dublin, Monaghan, Longford, Westmeath

Fixtures for the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT 2016

The ’round robin’ games are played on 3 successive weekends starting on:

Saturday, 2 July
Longford v Westmeath (7.00 pm)

Sunday, 3 July
Meath v Wicklow (4.45 pm)
Cavan v Louth (7.30 pm)
(All games in Millbrook, Oldcastle)

Dublin v Monaghan (Date & Time TBC)

Rd.2: Sat.9 July/ Sun.10 July
Group A
Cavan v Wicklow
Meath v Louth
Group B
Dublin v Westmeath
Longford v Monaghan
Rd.3: Sat.16 July/ Sun.17 July
Group A
Cavan v Meath
Louth v Wicklow
Group B
Dublin v Longford
Monaghan v Westmeath

Finals: W/e 30/31 July (Cup, Plate & Shield Finals)

•    The tournament to be run on a ‘round robin’ basis, each team plays each other in their group.  2 points for a win, 1 point for a draw
•    Group positions based on score difference in the event of teams on same points
•    Top teams in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Cup Final
•    Second team in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Plate Final
•    Third team in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Shield Final

Gerry Reilly
This tournament commemorates Gerry Reilly who died tragically in December ’87 at 16 years of age, and he had already proved to be a great footballer with huge potential to go on to great heights in the game.
Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date:
Westmeath     1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010, 2011
Meath        1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2007
Cavan        1997, 2004, 2006, 2014, 2015
Dublin        1993, 1998, 2008 (U-17 Blitz), 2012, 2013

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Plate to date:
Meath       2013, 2015
Wicklow     2014

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Shield to date:
Westmeath   2013
Meath       2014
Monaghan    2015