Dublin too strong for Laois in the Plate Final

Dublin 3-11 Laois 1-6
In the opening minutes of the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Plate Final played on Saturday evening, it looked like Laois were going to put it up to Dublin. However, when Dublin’s Simon Murphy pointed from a free in the 4th minute, Dublin started to dominate play. Showers during the game and all the earlier heavy rain did not make it easy for either team.

Matt Grogan found the Laois net for Dublin’s first goal after a pass in from Conor Hennessy. Thomas O’Neill added to Dublin’s tally with a fine point, before Laois’s, Sean Michael Corcoran attempt on goal was saved by Dublin’s ‘keeper, Simon Murphy.
Dublin had balls twice off the woodwork before Ciaran McManus got Dublin’s second goal after a fine run from the middle of the field. Dublin went on to add 4 points to their score and were completely on top.
Laois got their first score in the 29th minute with a goal finished to the net by Cathal Bennett. Josh Lacey pointed for Laois’s second score just before the break.
H/T: Dublin 2-6 Laois 1-1
Laois did get the first score of the second half with a Mark O’Connell point, but again it was Dublin who were creating the scoring chances. They went on to add four unanswered points from the boots of Ciaran McManus, Cillian Stynes (2), and Denis Smith. They then followed up with their third goal finished to the Laois net by Cillian Stynes.

Laois’s second point of the half came in the 54th minute scored by Trevor Swayne, but by then Dublin were no longer playing with any urgency. Laois did add two converted frees to their tally (Josh Lacey) to another Dublin point (Cillian Stynes) before the final whistle.

Dublin’s, Ciaran McManus was presented with the RESPA ‘Man of the match’ award by Bobby Kellett (Kelletts Oldcastle Ltd)

It was all too easy for Dublin, who had just missed out to making the Cup Final losing  to Monaghan by the minimum. They will certainly be strong contenders for next year’s All Ireland U17 Football Championship

Afterwards Dublin’s Captain, Mark O’Leary, was presented with the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Plate Trophy by Bobby Kellett (Kelletts Oldcastle Ltd)

Dublin: Simon Murphy, Noel Hatton, Conor O’Brien, Josh Bannon, Mark O’Leary, Karl Morgan, Fergal O’Byrne, Ciaran Hogan (0-1), Ciaran McManus (1-2), Cillian Stynes (1-5), Conor Hennessy, Simon Murphy (0-1,f), Conor Guilfoyle, Matt Grogan (1-0), Tomas O’Neill (0-1)
Subs: Adam Fearon for Hogan, Denis Smith (0-1) for Murphy, Enda Cashman for O’Byrne, Conor Lowe for Guilfoyle, Lorcan O’Del for O’Neill, Evan Brooks for Morgan

Laois: Oisin Keogh, Eoin Fitzpatrick, Sean O Neill, Mickey Bennett, William Reilly (0-1), Cathal Bennett (1-0), Adam Dunne, Sean Michael Corcoran, Ned Ryan, Seamus Farrelly, Josh Lacey (0-3,2f), Ross Bolger, Mark O’Connell (0-1), Damon Larkin, Enda McWey
Subs: Seth Mooney for Farrelly, Robbie Collins for Ryan, Trevor Swayne (0-1) for Bolger, Cathal Doyle for Larkin

Ref: Joey Curley (Meath)