A masterclass display by Wicklow in the Gerry Reilly FT

Wicklow 7-12 Westmeath 3-5
Wicklow were simply on fire in their win over Westmeath in the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT played in Millbrook, Oldcastle on Sunday afternoon.
They had wind advantage in the first half and made quick use of it by scoring a goal and 3 points by the third minute. Ruari Tompkins point was quickly followed up with a goal and a point(f)  by Eoin Darcy. Wicklow had extended their lead to 8 points before Westmeath’s Shane Fleming pointed in the 9th minute. It was all Wicklow now and 2 goals scored by Eoin Darcy (one a penalty) was making it very difficult to get back into the game.
H/T: Wicklow 3-8 Westmeath 0-3
On the resumption Westmeath’s Oisin Raleigh got the opening score and it looked as the start of a fight back. However goals converted by Charlie Drumm, Evan Connell and Shane Fleming was putting the game way out of Westmeath’s reach.
To their credit, Westmeath did not give up and went on to get 2 goals before Wicklow got their 7th goal.
A terrific display by Wicklow on the day who would have challenged any team on the day.

Wicklow’s, Cian Walsh, was presented with the RESPA ‘Man of the match’ award by Seamus Maxwell (Chairperson, Oldcastle GFC)

Wicklow: Kian Geraghty, Gavin O’Shea, Chris Grimes, Jason Steed, Fionn O’Carroll, Daire Devine, Gavin Fogarty, Cian Walsh (1-0), Eoghan Byrne (0-2), Oisin Cullen (0-1), Shaun Cranley (0-3), Sean Doody, Johnny Keogh (1-0), Eoin Darcy (4-2), Ruari Tompkins (1-1)
Subs: David Maloney (0-2) for Tompkins, Nicky Kearney for Devine, Tristan O’Toole (0-1) for Cranley, Daire Wright for Doody, Ken O’Grady for O’Carroll, Kevin Quinn for Keogh

Westmeath: Ryan Judge, Wayne Smith, Michael McCormack, Aidan Stone, Jordan McDonnell (1-0), David Manning, Liam Moran, Charlie Drumm, Jack Murtagh, Enda Gaffney, Oisin Raleigh (1-4,3f), Dylan Keegan, Jack Torpey (1-0), Shane Fleming (0-1), Evan Connell
Subs: Philip King for Moran, Fionn Glennon for King, James Clavin for Judge, Kehn Ruzzle for Smith, Brandon Kelly for Keegan

Ref: Pat Clarke (Cavan)