A League win at Millbrook

Oldcastle 2-13 Moynalvey 0-06

This evening’s A League match in Millbrook was preceded by a minutes’ silence in memory of Zak Moran. May he Rest in Peace.

Robbie Farrelly and CJ Healy had two points each on the board within five minutes, and before Moynalvey got off the mark with a free. A sideline ball from Ben Grey to Conor McHugh and on to Colin Hawdon then found Oran Mulvanny, back to Ben and on to Conor Delaney who was fouled, the free on to Colin again, to brother Darren, back to Ben Grey and on to Oran O’Reilly who was fouled, with Robbie converting, as he did for the next score also. The following score came from the Moynalvey kickout, brought down by James Cooke, on to the flying Ronan Maguire, to Robbie and finally to Colin Hawdon who sailed her over to leave it Oldcastle 0-07, Moynalvey 0-02 at the break.

The second half got underway with a Robbie free, followed by a CJ free. A spate of injuries then hit Oldcastle, with James Cooke, Ben Grey and Packie Kevin all injured.

Moynalvey just missed a goal chance early on, soon followed by a blaster that stand-in goalie Sean Maxwell had to work hard to save, with the Moynalvey goalie coming up to take and score the ensuing ’45. An Oldcastle free for Pearse Sheridan got upfield via Stephen Lawless, to Ronan Maguire and Joe Lynch, to Colin and Conor McHugh and finally to Oran Mulvanny who blasted her to the back of the net for the first goal of the match.

Just minutes later a JP Purcell intercept was fed on to CJ and to the running Paddy GIlsenan who coolly shot to the back of the net for Oldcastle’s second goal. Oldcastle were dominating the match now, Moynalvey with no answers, and more points Conor McHugh, CJ and Pearse Sheridan plus a red card for their number 6 just added to their woes. When the referee sounded the final whistle it was on a final score of Oldcastle 2-13, Moynalvey 0-06.

May be an image of 13 people, people standing and outdoors

Oldcastle: Packie Kevin, Colin Hawdon (0-01), Stephen Lawless, Oran O’Reilly, James Cooke, Ronan Maguire, Darren Hawdon, Conor McHugh (0-01), Oran Mulvanny (1-00), Ben Grey, Pearse Sheridan (0-02), Robbie Farrelly (0-05), CJ Healy (0-04), Conor Delaney, Keith Connell. Subs: Joe Lynch, Sean Maxwell, Paddy GIlsenan (1-00), JP Purcell, Ross Cadden.