Minors in last chance Saloon

Moynalvey/Boardsmill 2-11 Oldcastle 0-10

Moynalvey/Boardsmill came to a Baltic Millbrook this evening (29/10/2019) intent on booking their spot in the LM/FM Championship Final, and that is just what they did. The first fifteen minutes of the match were played at a fast and furious pace, with goalie Ross McCann saving the day for Oldcastle: he executed multiple brilliant saves worthy of Cluxton. Indeed for all the furiousness of the play, the score was only two points to Oldcastle and three to M/B after the fifteen minutes. Thereafter the opposition took control of the half, despite Paul Wade taking up a defensive sweeper role and great work from Oldcastle who were very unlucky to have two shots denied by the crossbar, leaving the scoreboard favouring the opposition at the break: Oldcastle 0-03, Moynalvey/Boardsmill 1-06.

A good restart for Oldcastle saw Eoin Smith take a lovely point from play, followed by a Pearse Sheridan free. M/B added one themselves, before another two from Pearse, who was fouled every time he got the ball. With the gap now reduced to three points it seemed a comeback was coming, but Moynalvey/Boardsmill were all revved up and retaliated with a goal which effectively closed it down as a match. They followed that up with four unanswered points. Referee Martin Dawson was right in the middle of every play – in the way of every play it could be said! – but he was looking at his watch as Ryan Kevin sailed over a lovely point. It was Ryan who got the next ball but was fouled while running on goal: Pearse converted. The last kick-out went to Colin Halpin, on to Conor Boylan, J.P. Purcell, to Ryan Kevin, onwards via Brian Hetherton and finally Ben Grey who was brought down. Pearse converted once more, Martin blew his whistle and that was that with a scoreline of Oldcastle 0-10, Moynalvey/Boardsmill 2-11.

The final beckons for Moynalvey/Boardsmill , while Oldcastle now face another play-off against Rathkenny to hopefully get there too.

Oldcastle: Ross McCann, Mark Coyle, Colin Halpin, Brian Hetherton, Paul Wade, Lloyd Colleran, Ciaran Connell, James McCluskey, Ryan Kevin (0-01), Eoin Smith (0-01), Ben Grey, J.P. Purcell, D.J. Monaghan, Pearse Sheridan (0-08), Eoin Smith. Subs: James Tuite, Kane Cullen, Conor Boylan.